About Us

Lake Cities Printing was started in 1986 as Sun Printing, a division of The Lake Cities Sun, and operated in a building where the new Northstar Bank drive-through is located. In 1991, Sun Printing moved to 275 Market Street in Lake Dallas along with the newspaper. That building was built in 1908 and originally housed a general store and post office downstairs and a Woodsmen of the World lodge hall upstairs.

In 1998, Sun Printing changed its name to Lake Cities Printing. In 2002, Terry Lantrip, owner of both the newspaper and print shop, sold the newspaper but retained the print shop. The print shop remained at The Lake Cities Sun building until January 2005 when it moved to its current location, 209 Main Street, which was purchased in 2003. 

The 209 Main location was originally a home and may date to the late 1800s. Homer and Eva Johnson (above) bought the home and .34 acres for $10 in the 1950s. The couple lived in the home until their deaths. Eva Johnson's iris's are still in the front yard. Homer's garlic still grows in the back yard. The house originally was one room and over the years additional rooms have been added. The original room boasts beaded board walls and ceiling with most being the original and some being replacements. The home has wood floors throughout that until now had never been walked on. During renovations, seven layers of linoleum covered the floor. Those wood floors have been sanded and stained. In January 2005, just a few weeks from completion, a fire damaged the home. Quickly, the home was repaired and Lake Cities Printing moved in. 

In 2008, Doug Gryder, owner of Gryder Graphics, brought his print shop to Lake Dallas and merged with Lake Cities Printing. Doug has over 20 years experience as a press operator and printing specialist. Doug is dedicated to serving customers in the Dallas metroplex with high quality printing and excellent service.